For the beginners…

DSC_4208This post is dedicated one of my best friends, who is just discovering the world of culinary arts… no, she’s not training to be a chef. She’s a home cook in training and someone who keeps me humble and laughing. For the beginner home cooks: good luck!

So yesterday morning, I had every intention to roast the chicken that I had purchased on Saturday from the butcher around the corner. (Sidenote: I’m really loving the fact that fresh ingredients are literally just down the street! I’m living a food lover’s dream!)

Wipes away tears of happiness…

Anyways, back to the chicken!

I had good intentions… the alarm went off at nine o’clock. I, half sleepily, thought of the chicken and started running through the steps in my head, then rolled over and woke up again at…

A quarter past eleven!!

The situation was further exacerbated by the fact that we had an almost-lunch-time-breakfast of cinnamon and apple rolls (recipe to come! Stay tuned! I literally cook more than I can type up!).

And made even worse by the fact that the chicken… still had some bits of feathers to be removed! Now that’s fresh!

After my best efforts of de-feathering the bird (that sounds so wrong!), I looked at the clock… quarter past midday.

Umm… no. The chicken will have to be for another meal! No way I’ll have it done by a decent hour. And hungry is not an adjective I plan to use to describe my Sunday.

Plan B: pasta… I always fall back on pasta! But this time with a bite… a yellow Moruga Scorpion bite!

Don't let the fact that it's yellow fool you. It's hot, Hot, HOT!
Moruga Scorpion Yellow… care for a bite?

Don’t let the fact that it’s not fiery red fool you into thinking that it doesn’t pack heat. It’s HOT! Originally from the district of Moruga in Trinidad and Tobago, two tiny islands in the Caribbean, the Moruga Scorpion was the 2012 hottest chilli in the world. So try with care… and if in doubt make sure you have milk or yogurt on hand to extinguish the fire inside your mouth.

Moruga Scorpion Chilli, Fresh Tomato and Basil Linguine

Ingredients:

200g linguine

3 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil

1 clove of garlic

1 small tomato

A palmful of fresh basil leaves

1 piece of Moruga Scorpion Yellow (about the size of a grain of rice… trust me, for this variety, it will suffice)

Grana Padano or Parmigiano Reggiano (optional)

Serves 2
Preparation: 20-30 minutes
  1. Start a pot of water to boil. Once it is boiling throw in a fistful of coarse salt and boil your pasta. Remember to stir every so often so that it doesn’t become one starchy mess.
  2. Take the clove of garlic and slice into two halves. Mince one half into tiny pieces and leave the other whole (unless you really like garlic, in which case mince the whole clove). Heat up the oil and put the whole half of clove in. Mince the chilli into equally small pieces and throw everything in the pan.
  3. Chop up a tomato and throw it into the pan once the minced ingredients are golden. Cook until the tomatoes are soft and turn off the pan. Roughly chop the basil and throw it in the hot pan. Give it a stir and your “sauce” is ready.
  4. Drain the pasta and combine everything. Serve with Parmigiano Reggiano or Grana Padano.

Buon appetito!

2 comments

  1. I absolutely love the simplicity of this dish! It’s an absolute winner for me and definitely something I would feel confident cooking just as a spur of the moment kind of indulgence. Thank you so much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

