First Dish: Pasta with Courgette

DSC_3602Hello, world! …apparently the first program coders learn when they are first embarking on their journey as a programmer, and a fitting start for this blog. It’s been years since I shared my scattered and random thoughts with nameless, faceless strangers. However, now, I have a goal… an intention… a focus… centred around my most insatiable body part…

…my stomach!

I have to say, at first, cooking didn’t come naturally to me. I only started cooking for myself out of necessity; after moving halfway around the world away from the mouthwatering homecooked meals of my very culinarily talented mum. With the reassurance of my dad that, at the beginning, my mum wasn’t the star masterchef that she is now, I started experimenting…

A pot of burnt boiled rice…
a minor, but scarring, experience with a meat cleaver and a bell pepper…
and a few flat-as-a-pancake-and-dense-as-a-brick cakes later…

a self-proclaimed foodie was born!

One of the first dishes I learnt to cook was pasta with courgette (or zucchini depending on where you come from). The recipe is simple, but it covers a few of techniques worth learning and practising. Good luck!

Pasta with Courgette

Ingredients:

CourgettePastaIngredGrey

  • 1 medium sized courgette
  • 1 small red onion
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 tin of chopped tomatoes or tomato passata
  • salt to taste
  • 100g of penne rigate pasta (per person)
  • Parmigiano Reggiano or Grana Padano (optional)

Serves 3-4

Preparation:

30-40 minutes

  1.  Cut the clove of garlic in half and remove the middle. Then thinly slice the onion. Heat up olive oil in a pan. When hot, add the garlic halves, then wait to add the onion until the garlic is starting to turn a light golden colour on one side. Cover the pan with a lid so that the onion doesn’t burn, but rather steams in its own vapours.
  2. Slice the courgette as thin as you prefer, alternatively you can also make the sauce more “rustic” by chopping it into cubes. Chef’s preference! Put the cut courgette in when the red part of the onion has turned lighter in colour.
  3. Once the courgette starts becoming translucent, add the tin of chopped tomato. Cook until the water from the tomatoes has evaporated, leaving a hearty sauce. Salt to taste.
  4. While the sauce is cooking, start boiling a pot of water. The water level must always cover the pasta from beginning to end, so measure accordingly. Once the water is boiling, add about a small fistful of coarse salt. Then add the pasta. Make sure the water stays boiling while the pasta is cooking. The cooking time is always written on the pasta packaging, but I like to just keep tasting the pasta to see if it’s cooked to my liking.
  5. Drain pasta and mix in sauce. Plate and top with grated cheese.

Buon appetito!

2 comments

  1. I love this blog!!!! well done!!!! I am definitely going to try this recipe. Thank you so much for posting. I would like to know if I could use any other pasta instead of penne?

    Like

    • Thanks very much for your support. Of course you can use other types of pasta! I’ve used linguine, pipe rigate and spaghetti with this pasta sauce before. Though I’d have to say the tube shaped pasta tastes slightly better with this sauce because it allows the sauce to cover the entire pasta, inside and out, thereby making it more flavourful. Give different types of pasta a try and see which one you like better. Happy cooking!

      Like

Leave a Reply

